Become a Member

The Southwestern Business Deans' Association (SWBDA) began as a group of deans from business schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, and was established for the purpose of promoting and improving collegiate business education generally located in the southwestern region of the United States and Mexico. We now have members from Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Kansas, Missouri, Tennessee, and Utah as well.



Membership Policy

Membership in the Association shall be open to institutions offering a junior college, baccalaureate, or graduate program in business administration or business education, and profit and not-for-profit organizations interested in supporting higher education for business and administration. New members shall be admitted to the Association upon full payment of dues. Dues are $200 per year per institution/organization, and the membership year is November 1 through October 31.

Click here to view the SWBDA Constitution and Bylaws.

Annual Meeting

Our Annual Meeting for 2022 will be held June 12-14 at the Hotel Santa Fe in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Registration is now open, and the preliminary program is available here.

Hotel Santa Fe reservations:

Call the hotel at 877-259-3409 or send an email to and ask for the Southwestern Business Deans’ Association Annual Meeting room block. The hotel requires one night’s room deposit within 10 days of making a reservation. Reservations must be cancelled at least 48 hours prior to arrival, or the one-night deposit will be forfeited.

Our group rate is $159 per night (plus tax) for a Picuris Junior Suite. This rate includes complimentary wi-fi, self-parking, and downtown shuttle service. The resort fee has been waived for reservations in our block. The block is for the nights of June 11, 12, and 13. Our rate is also available for three days before and three days after the block dates, subject to availability.

The deadline for reservations in our block has been extended to May 18, 2022.

CLICK HERE to register for the Annual Meeting

Executive Board


Past President
Michael Hargis, Dean
College of Business
University of Central Arkansas

Ann Murphy, Dean
College of Business
Metropolitan State University of Denver

Margaret Williams, Dean
Rawls College of Business
Texas Tech University

Marc Miller, Dean
School of Business
Middle Georgia State University

Marsha Whitney, Assistant to the Dean (retired)
Collins College of Business
University of Tulsa

Gary Stading, Retired Dean

James Payne, Dean
College of Business Administration
University of Texas at El Paso

Steve Beach, Dean
College of Business
University of Texas Permian Basin

Print Friendly and PDFPrint Friendly