About Us

The Southwestern Business Deans' Association

(SWBDA) began as a group of deans from business schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, and was established for the purpose of promoting and improving collegiate business education generally located in the southwestern region of the United States and Mexico. We now have members from several other states as well.

Executive Board 2023-24


James Payne, Dean
Spears School of Business
Oklahoma State University

Past President

Margaret Williams, Dean
Rawls College of Business
Texas Tech University


Steven Beach, Dean
College of Business
University of Texas Permian Basin


Mary Edith Stacy, Dean
College of Business & Technology
Northwestern State University


Ann Murphy, Dean
College of Business
Metropolitan State University of Denver


Christopher Martin, Dean
College of Business
Louisiana Tech University


Kenneth Smith, Dean
McLane College of Business
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor


Marsha Whitney, Assistant to the Dean (retired)
Collins College of Business
University of Tulsa

Membership Policy

Membership in the Association shall be open to institutions offering a junior college, baccalaureate, or graduate program in business administration or business education, and profit and not-for-profit organizations interested in supporting higher education for business and administration. New members shall be admitted to the Association upon full payment of dues. Dues are $200 per year per institution/organization, and the membership year is September 1 through August 31.

Click here to view the SWBDA Constitution and Bylaws.